Don’t know what to read next? [Special Edition]

In this edition of “Don’t know what to read next?”, I’d like to recommend to you something other than your typical Japanese Manga. This time, I will recommend you works from non-Japanese artists, and we have quite a lot of these~

Recently, the number of non-Japanese works has literally exploded. We now have works from Chinese, Italian, Korean, and Thai artists. It’s an absolutely awesome development, especially if we consider the fact that all of these works are amazing~


Title: Their Story
Author: Tanjiu
Year: 2014
Description:
This is a story mostly containing bits and pieces of how the two students Qiu Tong and Sun Jing meet and eventually fall in love.

It’s a very light and fun story, not only showing the two girls, but also the friends surrounding them.

Genre: Slice of Life, Comedy, Romance, Yuri
Read Online

First Impression:
This was probably the first non-Japanese drawn yuri story I ever read, and damn, did I enjoy it. I honestly didn’t have high expectations, given that it’s not really an ongoing story, but simply short manga strips that don’t necessarily show up in chronological order.

However, no matter how you look at it, this is a heartwarming, cute, and very well drawn love story that I cannot help but love!


Title: Fluttering Feelings
Author: Ssamba
Year: 2014
Description:
Similar to Their Story, Fluttering Feelings shows how two girls meet and fall in love. It’s not much different, but rather focuses on a romance that is happening very, very slowly.

Genre: Slice of Life, Romance
Read Online

First Impression:
As mentioned in the short description above, the romance between the two girls happens agonizingly slowly, something that is either poison or a remedy for a story focusing on romance.

I’m actually not up to date with this one, which is why I can’t fully judge it yet, but I sure hope that there will be at least some kind of progress next time I pick this up again.

Title: Lily Love
Author: Ratana Satis
Year: 2014
Description:
For some reason, the descriptions for these are always the same, so here we go again: Thanks to being neighbors in the same college dorm, Mew and Donut (I have no idea if these are actually real names) quickly become friends, while at the same time discovering that there might be something more.

Genre: Romance, Yuri, Slice of Life
Read Online

First Impression:
In sharp contrast to Fluttering Feelings, this one moves way quicker, making it obvious from the very beginning how this story will eventually play out. We get to see them meet, get together, and also witness some of the problems they encounter on their way. It’s been a really nice read so far, but it may be a little over-hyped in my eyes.
But who am I to judge, right? I mean, I’m a die-hard Citrus fan, so I shouldn’t complain. πŸ˜›


Title: Magan & Danai
Author: ermuzibu
Year: 2015
Description:
Magan and Danai are a couple, living together in their own apartment. This webcomic shows various moments of their everyday life together.

Genre: Slice of Life, Yuri, Comedy
Read Online

First Impression:
Just like Their Story, this one also features short manga strips that are published in a more or less random order.

There is no real story behind it, only some fun and heartwarming moments between the two girls. I heard the author actually portrayed her own relationship in this one. I don’t know whether that’s true or not, but I sure hope that she’s not Magan in their story. πŸ˜›

Title: What Does The Fox Say
Author: Team Gaji
Year: 2015
Description:
This one takes place in an office, showing the two girls in different positions, meaning that one of them is the newbie and one of them the stern team leader.

Genre: Romance, Office Ladies, Yuri
Read Online (Only the first chapter is available for free, the rest needs to be purchased online.)

First Impression:
Since I still haven’t fully understood how to purchase the rest of the webcomic, I can’t say much about this one. Well, I was a little put off by the art at first, but I got used to it pretty quickly. I also have to admit that I was quite hooked after the first chapter alone, so I have to work through the tutorial on how to read the rest of it pretty soon.

Advertisements

38 thoughts on “Don’t know what to read next? [Special Edition]

  1. I could only find wdtfs in Spanish, since I'm Argentinian I have no problem reading it. But I mostly read everything in English so I can practice. It's strange to not find any translation in English since almost every Manga is first translated from the original language to English and then all the others..but well, I'll try to find it in English, I'll tell you if I get it, oh btw I love ur blog and ur twitter 😍 (I had a problem with the Internet connection so this comment may be sent twice) lots of love from Argentina!! πŸ’•

    Like

  2. I absolutely adore the first four stories. “Fluttering Feelings” looks like is going to be a very slow-burn romance (40 chapters and still ongoing according to Mangaupdates), which is my favorite kind of Yuri. “Their Story” is probably my favorite out of all of them, Qiu Tong's definitely become one of my favorite Yuri characters. “Lily Love” is pretty nice, though I agree it might be slightly over-hyped; there's a lot of drama on the horizon as well from what I've heard. “Magan & Danai” is kind of like a more realistic (maybe?) “Wife and Wife” and I like it, would be neat if that part about the author is true. As for “What Does The Fox Say”, I can't say much since I'm in the same boat as you, though I wasn't particularly fond of the first chapter.

    Either way, all of them are pretty decent, hope a lot more non-Japanese Yuri stories pop up as well.

    Like

  3. I know and read all, but it's nice that you gathered them and wrote few words.

    Their Story – damn, I'm enjoying this. It can be cute, It can be hilarious and funny. Every time that new strips appear, I read them all from the start =D

    Fluttering Feelings – yeah, it's very slow, and i think more serious than TS, but still nice to read.

    Lily Love – love this and their face expressions. Story moving forward nicely and i hope that upcoming drama and tension (?) will not be too serious and long. Just give me happy yuri sol with Donut and Mew.

    Magan & Danai – not much story, but enjoyable. Propably it really is based on real live of author. If I remeber correctly, somwhere on ds someone gave links to photos of author and her gf.

    What Does The Fox Say – I have the same reaction on this and the same problem. I really want to read more :/

    [yeah, docBrown like in BTTF]

    Like

  4. Thank you for this. I knew them all except WDTFS and immediatly started looking for it. Like the first posters says I found ways….lol. I usually do the same, read it in english to practice but apparently those are even more hard to find since you can get sued….anyway, it's an interesting story. I absolutely love the art, everyone is so damn handsome and atractive and it doesn't hurt in the NSFW panels. But I swear it's an interesting manhua. Im not just perving or anything. I swear…

    Like

  5. if you like love triangle then read WDTFS, believe me my friend. worth it, i already bought the chap, you can read the eng ver once you buy it. unfortunately you can only read it till chap 18 (for eng ver). from 19 till 26, you have to ask for eng trans from halmoni (tumblr). she only give translation for the one who actually buy chaps, so dont bother to ask for free chaps. she will shot you down. if you love it then buy it. as for how to purchase it, you can read it in dynasty, it's quite easy

    Like

  6. I think it's time to find out about What does the Fox say. Maybe a review will help you guys decide whether it's worth paying for.
    I know it sounds harsh, since we should probably pay for everything we read, but oh well, you know what I mean πŸ˜›

    Like

  7. I think I'll stop myself from making any stupid BTTF jokes and just move on πŸ˜›
    Just like I said above, a review about What does the fox say might just be what many people need.

    Now, I only need to know how to actually get the chapters in English… damn πŸ˜›

    Like

  8. The translation in that mediafire folder is not good. There's another team that did an English overlay (much better translation) of wdtfs chs 1 to 19 on the Lezhin website. This link tells you how to create an account there and use the English Overlay: dynasty-scans.com/forum/topics/6809-what-does-the-fox-say-discussion . 7 chs cost approx 3 dollars and it's a great way to support the authors if you like the manhwa.

    Like

  9. I've actually considered both options.
    I know it's really bad to not use the opportunity to actually support the author when you can easily do so. For most Japanese works that is not as easy.

    But just like in case of Citrus or Girl Friends, I read the whole thing in English for free before I actually bought the volumes in English (or German). Well, in case of Citrus, I actually have the Japanese, the English and some German Volumes (yeah that's crazy I know :P)
    So just like in these cases, I want to read a little more to really be able to judge whether I want to buy this.

    Like

  10. Yup posted it on Facebook and Twitter already.
    Though, I didn't want to make another post about it on the blog, since I think I'll just do that when it's really happening.
    Though, I'm fangirling quite a lot already πŸ˜›

    Like

  11. I really love Yuri manga and I'm extremely happy that i found this site. I came across it about a 3 days ago and I've already finished nearly 6 Yuri manga. I have 1 issue with reading stuff like citrus. I HATE the waiting game. Especially since I dn't get manga in country, so I have to wait until someone posts it online after translating it. I would really appreciate it if you could post something on your top 10 list or recommendations list like “best completed yuri manga” or something like that. I'm sure there are a lot of people like me who share the same feeling…

    Like

  12. Hi there and welcome on my blog! Glad, you found your way here πŸ˜€
    Firstly, believe me I do hate this waiting game as well. Be it Manga, Anime or even Fanfiction. I guess everyone does. What I can recommend you is to not start reading/watching something unless it's finished. That's how a friend of mine gets along. That way you won't build up too much excitement and interest just to be frustrated from the waiting. And once it's finished you can have it all at once!
    As for your request I am not sure. Maybe if other people would appreciate that as well I would consider it.
    It is not like none of the manga I have mentioned before were finished. So you have a bunch of good, completed ones that I recommend. Also, I mentioned all of them because they are good. If other completed ones were as good I would mention them too so making a separate list with only completed ones could turn the overall quality of them worse, you know what I mean? If you follow my first advice, this might be enough already?
    Let me know!

    Like

  13. To see all these non-Japanese manga that I've read featured here makes me so happy. Their Story has recently published its first book though it is in Chinese. Though I've read them all, WDTFS is too intense for me.. I don't have the courage to continue reading it… You can join a closed group in Facebook where they update the chapters weekly. Magan and Danai is actually really based off the author and her gf most of the time. Awesomely, she is danai. This is a super late comment but seeing these mangas here made me very happy so I had to. Good day!

    Like

  14. To answer your confusion on whether or not Mew and Donut are their real names: no, they're not. In Thai, we have our actual first names and then our nicknames, which we call each other by. Nicknames are usually one to two sullables long and a lot of the time (but not always) are English nouns. For example, let's say I have a friend whose real first name is Pemika… her nickname could be anything from Milk, Bubble, and Pam, to Gun, Bam, and Fon. Weird, I know, but it's how things are. Hope that cleared it up a bit!

    Like

  15. I started reading Lily Love and its really sweet. Only they seem to be stuck at translating at chapter 10. While there are 25 chapters available. Does anyone have any idea if there are more translated chapters available that im missing?

    Like

  16. So far, I've only read Lily Love on the Dynasty Reader, so I really don't know if there are any more translated ones available. But since I'm pretty sure that the translation group “There Musqueerteers” are the only ones working on it, I think the chances are really slim to find it elsewhere.

    Like

  17. I really have to thank you for these beautiful works! I reached a point where I didn't know what to do next after I realized I've read and watched almost every yuri related things possible! I really like their story, lily love and especially fluttering feelings and what does the fox say. If you have any other recommendations up in stored, please do tell! Will be very much looking forward to them in the future. Thanks once again!

    Like

  18. Well, if you have already read all of it, the only thing left to do is just checking the most recent updates on the reader.
    There are tons of works on there, just search for your favorite tags~

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s